Skip to main content
MenuSearch & Directory


The Office of Faculty Affairs coordinates several University-level award nomination processes to recognize outstanding faculty work. Some awards are internal, while others are external to the University 

The list below provides information about each award, including a list of recent recipients.

Nancy McNeir Ring Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Nancy McNeir Ring Award originally was established in 1966 by SLU’s chapter of Alpha Sigma Nu, the national Jesuit honor society, to acknowledge faculty members who display special dedication to students. It was awarded annually from 1966-2008, and was re-established in 2016. It remains SLU’s only University-wide teaching award.

This award was named in honor of Nancy McNeir Ring, the University’s first dean of women, because of her devotion to the welfare of students. In keeping with tradition, Alpha Sigma Nu students review nominations and select the recipient each year.

Each school/college/center may nominate up to two faculty members for this award. The award carries with it $2,500 in professional development funds and is presented on stage at the December commencement ceremony, where the recipient presents the commencement address.

Recent recipients include: Anne McCabe (English, SLU Madrid), Lauren Arnold (Epidemiology), Paul Bracher (Chemistry), and Katie Kelting (Marketing).

Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award

The Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award acknowledges outstanding educators in the St. Louis area. Each college/school/center is able to nominate one faculty member for this award. Finalists are selected by a committee of past SLU recipients, and the University is allowed two awardees annually. Nominees must have been with the University for at least three years, are selected for their commitment to teaching, and are highly innovative in their instruction. Recipients are acknowledged at an awards ceremony hosted by Emerson. The Call for Nominations for this award typically goes to deans and directors in the early fall semester. Additional information about the Emerson Award may be found here.

Recent recipients include: Sally Beth Lyon (Education), Julie Wolter (Clinical Health Sciences), Ben Looker (American Studies), Kim Levenhagen (Physical Therapy and Athletic Training), and Mary Vermilion (Sociology and Anthropology).

Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching

Baylor University’s Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching recognizes outstanding teachers and encourages universities to value teaching. The recipient of the Cherry Award for Great Teaching receives a prize of $250,000 for the winner, with their home department receiving $25,000. The recipient also teaches in residence at Baylor for one semester. There also is a smaller prize for a small number of finalists. Nominees for the award should “have a proven record as an extraordinary teacher with a positive, inspiring, and long-lasting effect on students, along with a record of distinguished scholarship.” Nominations are submitted directly to Baylor; there is no limit to the number of nominees an institution may submit. Additional information about the Cherry Award may be found here.

Saint Louis University’s Eleonore Stump (Philosophy) was the 2004 recipient of this prestigious award.